Love Language

By Fin Sheridan

For God so loved the world that he sent his one and only Son that whoever believed in him would not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

In 1995, a man named Gary Chapman wrote a book called “The 5 Love Languages”. It was extraordinarily successful and has been used all over the world to help couples discover how best to love one another. The Love Languages that Chapman identified were:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

His observations were that we love, and receive love, in different ways and that by being aware of these tendencies, people would be able to understand each other better. Whatever you think about the 5 Love Languages that he’s mentioned, our verse today gives us a snapshot into how heaven’s love works.

God’s love makes itself known through giving.

For God so loved the world that he gave. In other words, God’s love makes itself known through giving. And not through giving BMW’s or holidays abroad (although he does physically and financially bless us)  but through giving the most precious gift in the entire cosmos: the life of his Son, Jesus.

When we give, we’re never more like God. It models something from heaven, a posture that comes directly from the Father. God loves, so God gives. Therefore, as creatures made in his image, we should give as an act of love. It’s in our DNA. It’s a universal love language.



 in God, Read

This website uses cookies to give you the best experience. Agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.